Posted by: forgingahead | May 20, 2009

I Miss My Horse

Last night I was at a dinner party just a scant 7 miles from Now Voyager. But we were running late and didn’t have time head further south. And by the time the party ended (great fun, by the way) it was too late.

I guess that’s why I’m sitting here this morning feeling unsettled.

I want to be at the barn.

I’m overdue for one of those days where I groom and fuss over him.

Then ride without checking my watch every 5 minutes to make sure I stay on schedule.

Then give him a bath (imagine a warm day on the coast) and feed him a big bucket of grain and bran mash while he dries and becomes the color of a bright copper penny.

While he’s munching away I give each piece of my tack (bridle/saddle) a much needed thorough cleaning.

Time is a precious commodity these days and my horse just isn’t getting his share. I’ll have to work on that.

Responses

  1. Come on Ms. Kathleen – put him higher on the list. NV deserves more…But, I know how you feel – I need to put “my girls” up higher as well!!

  2. Look around and see where you can delegate. There is only so much of you to go around and you need to feed your spirit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

