Posted by: forgingahead | May 19, 2009

Good Advice

SwimBikeRunGuy Loren Pokorny – also known as the Lorpeedo – had a great post the other day that had me sit up and say YES!

I’ll let you read the post for the whole story but the 2 second review is he’s quoting Mark Allen’s book ‘Fit Body, Fit Soul’ and highlighting his two favorite tips:

1. Ask yourself does this get me to my goal?
2. Just do 5 minutes of the workout.

The first one is a great way to prioritize on the fly when you’re feeling crushed by the assorted demands life throws your way. I’m going to practice this all day today and see how it goes.

The second tip got my behind out the door this morning for a run. I was feeling hungover thanks to a few glasses of very tasty red wine and sluggish from the pillows of ricotta ravioli I devoured last night followed with a gelato chaser (2 flavors: Dark Chocolate and Chocolate with Peanut Butter – YUM!!).

We had friends visiting from out of town and they wanted to explore North Beach so a fine evening of Italian dining and wine was had by all. However, the aftermath wasn’t pretty.

So I laced up my shoes and said to myself, “Self. Just do 5 minutes.” 5 miles later my body was feeling refreshed and my brain had rejoined the world.

Thanks Lorpeedo!

Responses

  1. I do that 5 minute thing many, many times! And I would say 90% of the time I continue doing the workout.

  2. Most of the time if I get out the door I’ll keep going too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

