Posted by: forgingahead | May 17, 2009

Preparing for LiveStrong

Bert and I are doing the LiveStrong Century on July 12th in San Jose. They posted the official route recently and we poured over the data. Specifically the vertical.

There’s a monster of a hill at mile 75. The first mile climb covers 300 feet. No big deal. I do that on one of my regular rides.

The *second* mile, sequentially, climbs 700 more feet. Now that got my attention.

I’m pretty wiped out at the top of my little one mile climb and the thought of not only continuing but at a pace more than twice as steep had me scared.

Coach Sage suggested we go ride the hill itself. Once, twice, three times in a row. Get to know it. Love it, breathe it, embrace it. And we will.

This weekend, though, we did something nearly as good. We followed part of the route the Tour of California guys did when they were here a few months back. Head South from Half Moon Bay and hang a left on a little road called Tunitas Creek that climbs 1,700 feet over 9 miles.

It was an usually warm day and I welcomed the dense shade of the deep canyon as I pedaled round and round and round for a very long time.

tunitascreek
And then I was at the top. I did it!

We turned South on Skyline Boulevard and surfed the ridge, taking in the views and enjoying the gentle ups, downs and corners of a road made for cars. Hung another right on La Honda Road (Hwy 48) and felt strong pumping the pedals downhill.

Most of our downhill work so far has been on narrow country roads filled with potholes and blind corners that scare me. This was the first time I’ve felt safe enough to really pedal and gain some speed and it was kind of addicting.

47 miles and 2,400 vertical feet of climbing took a little more than 4 hours. I do feel like I’m starting to live stronger.

Responses

  1. Wow! That is so cool. Strong rocks.
    Good luck with your training.

  2. Pretty cool. I can’t wait to hear all about the LiveStrong ride.

  3. Awesome! You’re going to be so ready for the Livestrong ride!! Can’t wait!!

  4. You will rock it when it comes! The hills you do now will help you tons come July.

  5. You will be pumping with adrenalin when you hit that big climb – I just know it! You’re going to be Strong!

  6. Love it, breath it, and embrace it? I would add that I would collapse on it.

  7. I was a Girl Scout, which I need to remind myself of more often than I do. Their motto, “Be Prepared”; which is what you are doing and it will stand by you well. Any chance the San Jose hill has any shade trees? No matter, you will “Be Prepared” and will do it in style!

    Love,

    Mom

  8. […] twice (see the mention down below re: Metcalf Road)! And even 1,700 feet in 9 miles like on the Tunitas Creek ride we did a few weeks […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

