Posted by: forgingahead | May 1, 2009

Racing Friends

I still have not committed to a tri in 2009…I know, serious feet dragging going on. There are two in early June that look interesting but no fees paid yet. Not sure what I’m waiting for.

In the meantime, my friends are in full race season and I’m loving following their adventures.

Wildflower is the weekend. Everyone says it’s one of the harder triathlons. Something about a bike course with some big hills. And apparently it’s in the middle of nowhere so a lot of people camp to be at the start of the race on time.

Charisa Wernick is racing at Wildflower. Go Charisa! She has a funny post about the predicted weather this weekend. RAIN! Which equals mud. Muddy camping. Muddy cycling. Muddy running. Sounds messy. Charisa has a great attitude about the whole adventure and I can’t wait to read about her race.

Courtenay Brown is racing Wildflower too! She somehow scored a shared house situation…with a bunch of guys. Not sure how she does it but CB seems to often be in the thick of some group thing and instigating hijinx. I love that she has a pre-race mani-pedi ritual that she follows religiously. Wonder if she’ll get the guys involved in that?

Kelly Dunleavy is racing as well though she doesn’t have a camping pass and with Kelly there’s always a pretty good chance of an adventure somewhere along the way. She does have beaucoup experience cycling in the rain though…and she’s super fast. So I predict success.

My friend Jenny on the Spot is tackling her first ever marathon this weekend. I’m just so proud of her! I’ve been following her training on her blog, twitter and facebook. She rocked a 20 mile run a couple of weeks ago, even though her achilles started acting up at mile ten. I’m sending big hugs and positive thoughts to you today Jenny! I know that injury is bringing you down but no matter what happens this weekend you’ve already accomplished so much.

A big shout out to my friend Clair who is recovering from mono. This is a wicked disease that just sucks the energy right out of a person. I had it in high school and I have NEVER felt so helpless and weak. I love that Clair is setting training goals for her recovery. Walk a block further each day. Get back in the pool. That’s the essence of training. Know what your body can do and push it just a little more each day. Eat right, rest and do it again. Clair twittered that she signed up for Bay to Breakers which is in just two weeks! Go Clair!

Best of luck this weekend Charisa, Jenny and Courtenay!

Responses

  1. I’m right there with ya. No commitments from me yet either! It’ll come…..

  2. Thanks Kathleen!

  3. Wow. I looked all over this list for my name and didn’t find it.
    Oh, that’s right. I don’t do anything. My bad.

  4. Thanks – it was such a fun weekend! 🙂 Now I’m resting up a bit before we tackle more . . . all good! Are you doing Fatty’s 100 miles to nowhere?


Leave a Reply

Categories

