Posted by: forgingahead | April 24, 2009

Friends and Santa Barbara

I had lunch with Angela the other day and it was so good to sit down and chat. Get caught up on each other’s lives. I’ve known Angela less than a year but she’s one of those people I just felt right at home with from the moment we met.

Later that day I had drinks with Erin. A very belated birthday drink (hers, not mine). Erin and I have been friends for 15 years. Just typing that gives me pause. Really, 15 years? Is that possible. Aren’t we just too young for that to be true?

I digress.

The point is that both of these experiences just made my day. There’s something about sitting down with a good friend that makes the world a better place. And I loved it.

Angela and I walked over the San Francisco Ferry Building, purchased two yummy sandwiches from the Acme Bread Co. (mine had triple cream cheese from Cowgirl Creamery – yum!) and then found a bench overlooking the San Francisco Bay and the ferries coming and going.

Erin and I met for a lovely glass of wine at The Americano – an outside bar/lounge attached to the Hotel Vitale. It was the tail end of the heat wave we’ve been having this week and a treat to sit outside.

I was totally picking Erin’s brain about century bike rides. She’s done something like EIGHT of these rides and believe you me I was taking a lot of mental notes. Erin is a fair-skinned redhead like me and her most crucial advice was to bring a bandana and keep it soaked in ice and tied around my neck. I am so doing that! San Jose in July? You bet it’s gonna be hot.

Bert and I headed down to Santa Barbara this morning to see his mom. I’m ensconced at Peet’s Coffee doing some work and catching up. Tomorrow we plan to get on our bikes early and head out for a ride. It’s overcast here but no matter what the weather is like, Santa Barbara always feel like a slice of paradise.

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Responses

  1. Sounds like the weekend has been perfect!

  2. Soaking in good times with friends is always something to be savored! Sounds perfect!

  3. I am so far behind on my reading and commenting! But, I always love to pop by and hear what you have been up to.

  4. Awh! You mentioned our lunch – how sweet are you! I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait until the next one…


Leave a Reply

Categories

