Posted by: forgingahead | April 22, 2009

Earth Day

My friend Charisa Wernick has a great post today…the ten things she loves about our planet.

Always one to pounce upon a good idea and co-opt it for myself, I’ve decided to follow in her bloggy footsteps and do the same!

10 Things I Love About Planet Earth

1. The smell of mountain air tinged with the vanilla scent of Jeffrey Pines.

2. Horses. Big and small. Round and lean. The tingle that goes up my spine when Now Voyager breathes a puff of air into my ear.

3. A cerulean blue sky at dusk. I could just fall right into that deep blue hue.

4. The things I notice when I’m on my bike or running along that I would miss speeding along in a car…small details like butterflies.

5. The magic of things growing in our garden. A little water, a little love, a lot of weeding and ta-da! Magic.

6. A ripe heirloom tomato fresh off the sun-warmed vine. Especially good when said tomato was grown by your friends and the eating of said tomato takes place in Mexico. Perfection.

7. Bodies of open water. From the glassy surface of a lake to the frothy whitecaps of a stormy ocean.

8. Resiliency. Like flowers that grow in the harshest desert conditions. Thank goodness our planet has been resilient so far.

9. Variety. In the weather. In the terrain. In plant and animal life.

10. The pink cliffs of Abiqui. They truly are pink and I can see why Georgia O’Keefe made this amazing place home. I do believe I’d discover some artistic tendencies of my own if I lived there.

Responses

  1. That’s a good list.
    I too love the water. That’s why I love living where I live. I’m practically surrounded by it!

  2. Ohhh, #4, #5 and #9 are my favorites 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

