Posted by: forgingahead | April 5, 2009

Make Me Laugh Monday – Rogue Racoon

mmlm1 My sense of humor took a hike while I was healing but it’s back now!

Bert and I were doing a bit of spring cleaning in the garden the other day. One of my jobs was to sort through the collection of seashells we brought home from Mexico last year. They’d been hanging out on our deck table through the winter and the time had come for a new display.

So I gave the shells a good washing and packed them into some plastic bags.

Later that same night I heard a strange sound from the deck. I know what sounds Zinger and Darkman make and this was not them.

I turned on the outside light and a sizeable racoon peered back at me. With something white in his mouth. We stood looking at each other for a few moments and then he wandered off down the stairs.

When I went out onto the deck I discovered the seashell-filled plastic bag torn to shreds and shells everywhere.

The next morning I discovered Mr. Racoon had been just as thorough with the bags that we had put in pots down in the garden.

garden-march-2009-006

Near as I can figure the act of washing the shells brought out that yummy seawater smell that racoons just love.

Because he left these shells alone. Thank goodness.

garden-march-2009-010

Now head on over to jennyonthespot for more Monday hilarity and hijinx!

Responses

  1. Those critters can make the biggest mess. They drive me crazy!

  2. Raccoons are the bane of my mother’s existence. They’ve torn her (plastic) garbage cans to shreds trying to get to the food and cat litter (??) inside. Now she has to use bungie cords to keep the cans shut, and when the litter box gets emptied out she double ziploc bags it. Whenever I visit and take anything out to the trash cans, she stops me and makes sure that it’s all raccoon-safe.

  3. It’s always fun when the sense of humor comes back!!! 🙂

  4. Thankfully, we have not had the joy of raccoons.

    Although I have had mice, a woodpecker, and flying squirrels.

    So I feel your pain. Hilarious!

  5. Oh! Racoons!!! Such stinkers! I am glad they/he/she was smart enough to leave your pretty display alone.

    Oh those racoons… LOL!!!

    kathleen – so happy you are getting back to normal 🙂 Bigs hugs, my friend! Big HUGS!!!

  6. Oh, raccoons! Such naughty things!


Leave a Reply

Categories

