Posted by: forgingahead | March 31, 2009

Cycling Success

I had a great bike ride today! Not the longest. Not the fastest. But there is something so very sweet about getting to do a thing you love after forced time off.

I made it up the hill in 9:20 which is a good minute slower than my PR but not too shabby for the first real ride in 6 weeks. Woo hoo!

And I was *almost* able to keep up with Bert. Though I’m pretty sure he was going slower than usual. Probably trying to build my confidence.

Then there was the horse. As I hoped, Now Voyager was thrilled to have me aboard once again. I kept it short and predict I’ll be saddle sore tomorrow. But it was pure heaven. Wind in my hair and joy in my heart. And a happy horse. Life is good.

I topped the day off with a trip to the dentist so now I have shiny teeth too. All in all a great first day back to land of happy-Kathleen.

This post is short and sweet…time to hit the hay. All that fresh air and exercise made me sleepy.

Responses

  1. joy in the heart…always a welcome addition to the day 🙂

  2. yay!

  3. I can see the smil on your face as I read your words – YAY!!! 🙂 Good job 🙂

  4. I’m so happy you are healthy and back to all the things you love!

  5. Glad you are back in the saddle so to speak!!!

  6. I’m going to the dentist today too 🙂 Glad the bike went well!!

  7. So happy for you! Good plug for going to the dentist as well. I’m not sure what all the reluctance of the “younger generation” is about when it comes to the dentist. All you youngsters out there need to take good care of your teeth now so you will have them for the long life we all hope to live. We are all living longer and (we hope) healthier, so take care of those teeth! See your dentist every six months for the best preventive care.

  8. Glad to hear it, Kathleen!! It’s so hard to be away from doing the things we love most, but it makes the return that much sweeter. Love hearing the joy in your post – brought a smile to my face. 🙂

  9. Way to get back in both the saddles again…a little more fully. You are still on a path of recovery…try not to look at your previous PRs too much. You will get there very quickly…you were making great progress before your surgery and will again. Take it day by day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

