Posted by: forgingahead | February 28, 2009

Farewell Vicodin

I am SO much more clear-headed since quitting Vicodin cold turkey on Saturday. I woke up and felt like the *pain* was manageable. I’m still on the Motrin for now but that’s just security for the next few days.

The doctor is either psychic or experienced. He promised my recovery would speed up after a week and boy was he right! I even attempted some very mellow yoga stretches last night.

I’ve been to the barn the last two days and am so happy to be getting back to my routine. Still baby steps but at least in the right direction.

Running, swimming and biking along with actually getting on the horse are still a ways out but I can feel it’s going to be possible. I was feeling a little hopeless there for a while, but perhaps some of that was the Vicodin too.

It’s been 11 days since my last workout. Hmmm, I’m either going to really rested or out of shape. Anyone want to take dibs? I’m hoping for rested.

Responses

  1. getting off vicodin can really help. its so disorienting

  2. Do you have any left? Can you send it my way? Just kidding… Glad you are feeling better. I bet the first day back you’ll feel a little sluggish, but the 2nd will feel great. Take it easy.

  3. I just can’t take that stuff. It messes me up terribly.

  4. That’s wonderful! Congratulations! You might be frustrated when you initially start back, but you’ll be surprised how quickly it comes back to you. Patience my friend!

  5. I bet you’ll be RESTED. Glad you are feeling better.

  6. Ditto Myra. Give yourself double the time you were away from exercise to get back to where you were. Also factor in the trauma your body has been through. If you get frustrated, just send yourself back in time a couple of years and remember how far you’ve come!

  7. I vote for rested!! Glad you are off the vicoden. i’m sure you feel tons better now.

  8. yah for no more drugs! And you’ll feel rested and be healthy and ready to go again in no time!

  9. Hooray for you! Just don’t rush it…remember my story…
    Glad to hear you are feeling better!

  10. Yay! So happy to hear you are feeling better. I thik you will be rested and it wee feel so good to jump back in! You are incredible 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

