Posted by: forgingahead | February 26, 2009

My Version of Axiom

Have you seen WALL-E yet? No? Go rent it. Add it to your Netflix queue.

I promise it will make you smile and warm your heart. Plus then you’ll know what I’m talking about when I say my life this last week has been just like the humans on the BnL cruise ship Axiom.

They’ve been living in space for 700 years and both lost bone density and gained weight. So now they all float around on these moving beds with giant tv screens glued to their line of sight. That’s me.

I did have a couple of big outings the last couple of days. Tuesday Bert took me down to visit Now Voyager. He set me up with a folding chair just outside NV’s paddock and then went for a bike ride.

I was in heaven. Now Voyager kept sticking his head sideways through the fence to get close to me. He nibbled on my shoelaces (I had my feet up on the fence). He leaned into my hand as I scratched his neck. We were happy to be together again. Plus the sun beating down on my back and the fresh air was perfection.

Yesterday I woke up feeling like a new person. I badgered Bert to take me somewhere fun. So we went to our neighborhood police station. Well, really we had to go get a fix-it ticket signed off. I’d borrowed Mom’s car and then got a ticket (while parked) for having plastic covering the license plates. Did you know that’s a ticketable offense? Me neither.

The policeman was very nice and the whole thing took about 5 minutes. So then we went shopping. There’s a wonderful store in SF called Dandelion. Mom used to take me there when I was a kid and I have fond memories of its treasure trove feeling.

We needed a nice way to store our coffee beans and Dandelion is one of those places where you can find just about anything house-ish and it’s always good looking. They did not disappoint and now we have a lovely bamboo box to grace our counter and make it easy to access the coffee.

Photo added per Angela’s quite reasonable request:

coffee-002

By this point I was a wee bit peckish so we stopped by the Axis Cafe for a bit of lunch. I had a half grilled cheese sandwich and bowl of yummy tomato soup.

I insisted that we stop at Trader Joe’s and that was my undoing. My body said *no more* as pain shot through my abdomen and I crawled home to bed and slept for 3 hours.

Today I’m going to pace myself better!

Responses

  1. This post does me NO good without a picture of the new Bamboo box for the coffee!!

    Take it easy young lady….Recovery will be shorter if you do.

  2. I echo Angela’s recovery advice. I got a little too active after my 2nd c-section…and ended up developing an abcess in my surgical site that required a month of open wound care! Not fun.

  3. Thanks Kathleen! Love it…

  4. sounds like a nice recovery, just don’t overdue it 🙂

  5. Pacing is good and I LOVE grilled cheese and tomato soup 🙂

  6. Pacing…we have to learn it in life, recovery, endurance sports…its important all over.

    YUMMY grilled cheese and tomato soup!! YUM

  7. Pace. Your. Self. Seriously K! Think of it like training. Oh, and we are huge Wall E fans here. Jake has the big remote control version. Know how much we had to pay for that sucker on Ebay before Christmas? Anyhoo, I get the lethargy. It will get better. Promise.


Leave a Reply

Categories

