Posted by: forgingahead | February 23, 2009

Recovering

Firstly, thank you all so much for the good wishes! Your comments cheered me immensely.

Sorry to have taken so very long to post an update. I’ve been in a drug-induced haze tinged with pain on the edges that kept me from my beloved laptop.

Surgery was a huge success! The highlights are that it took half the time they estimated (so less recovery from anaesthesia) and very little blood loss. Funny things to be excited about but there you have it.

Abdominal surgery, even laparoscopically, is amazingly traumatic to the body. I’m shocked to find how connected my abdominal muscles are to my arms and legs.

The very slightest of movements send shock waves of pain shooting into the depths of my innards. Gets my attention every time.

Consequently what little movement I make is undertaken with the greatest of care. Action is in extreme slow-motion. Minor activities require major planning.

Hence it has taken me 5 days to get back online and clearheaded enough to write a coherent (I hope) post.

I talked to my doctor today…he says healing progresses quickly after the first week. Can’t wait to get back to moving freely and training!

Responses

  1. I had laproscopic surgery on my abdomen in my 20’s and even then, I’d describe my recovery like yours. Can you imagine how it would have been if you weren’t in such great shape? I’m so glad you’re past the worst part, and I’m wishing you a speedy return to your training!

  2. So glad to hear you are recovering and that it was successful!! Hang in there and I’m wishing you a quick back-to-normalness 🙂

  3. Best wishes for a speedy recovery!

  4. Glad to hear you are back! I hope you have a speedy, speedy recovery and are on your feet and moving freely soon!

  5. Yay — glad that’s behind you. You might want to think twice about reading/writing on ‘Make Me Laugh Monday’ unless you enjoy laughing while crying from the pain of laughing. Or take a lot of drugs first…

    Big (gentle) hugs!


Leave a Reply

Categories

