Posted by: forgingahead | February 18, 2009

Going Under

They’re knocking me out tomorrow…4+ hours under anesthesia for removal of a cyst and fibroid. Each one the size of an orange. Yep, I’ll be glad when those bad boys are gone.

I’m not a fan of hospitals. Haven’t been a patient in one since I had my tonsils out in college. But I’m going to think positive and bring my iPod and look ahead to getting back on my bike in a couple three weeks stronger than ever. That’s the plan.

The good news is that I only found out this afternoon that my surgery is tomorrow…there was a cancellation and they’re filling me in instead. Less time to obsess/plan/worry about the whole *they’re cutting into me* thing.

I also really like my surgeon. Young, smart and confident. I think it’s good to have confidence when handling sharp tools. He has a good sense of humor too. When I asked him about the recovery he said that the thing that causes pain are the incisions.

“It’s like getting stabbed four times,” he said.

Cutting to the chase and calling a spade a spade. Oh dear, two cliches/puns in a row. Maybe I am nervous.

Anywho, I’ll be offline for a couple of days. Will post as soon as I’m coherent again just to let ya’ll know I’m alive and kicking.

Responses

  1. Good luck, Kathleen, and my you have a very speedy recovery!

  2. good luck! i’m sure it’ll be fun

  3. You’re probably under as I type this, but I’m wishing you a speedy recovery all the same.

  4. The very best to you. I’m hoping for a speedy recovery so you can be back doing all the things you love!.

  5. I’m hoping you have a very easy time of it and a fast recovery. We’ll be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

  6. Good luck – I’ll say a few prayers for you!

  7. Be thinking and praying for you! have a speedy recovery!

  8. Oh, honey, I’m behind the curve — but hoping that this means you are already recovering and catching up on well wishes from your many friends and admirers! Take care, and think of this as a much-deserved taper.

  9. i’m just catching up on reading the blogs. I hope everything went well. quick recovery.

  10. I hate that I am behind on this, girlfriend! Off to read to the top!


Leave a Reply

Categories

