Posted by: forgingahead | February 10, 2009

2,100 Miles of Swimming

UPDATE 2/13/09 Turns out she’s a fraud. She only swam about 250 miles in all and rode in the boat for the
rest. “I never intended to swim the entire distance,” Figge said when asked for a follow-up.

Seriously, how can she live with herself? I mean 250 miles is still impressive so she should have just said that. Now she’s tarnished her achievement.

I’m keeping my original post below as reference…seems me and the Associated Press got bamboozled.

* * * * * * * * * * *

No, not me. Got your attention though, didn’t I?

Jennifer Figge swam across the Atlantic ocean. Wow. Now that’s some serious focus people.

And she’s 56 years old. I’m so feeling like a slacker.

She lives in Aspen and part of her training was swimming in an outdoor pool during snowstorms. Creative!

Jennifer launched her escapade from the Cape Verde Islands off Africa’s western coast on January 12 and arrived in Trinidad 25 days (and 2,100 miles) later.

For illustrative purposes please reference the artfully rendered map (thanks Google!) below. Jennifer started her adventure on the right side (that’s Africa) from the little clump of white spots just off the coast of Senegal. And she finished on the left side at the clump of white spots slightly northeast of Venezuala. That’s a lot of open water.

atlantic-swim

I like this quote from the AP article

Figge woke most days around 7 a.m., eating pasta and baked potatoes while she and the crew assessed the weather. Her longest stint in the water was about eight hours, and her shortest was 21 minutes. Crew members would throw bottles of energy drinks as she swam; if the seas were too rough, divers would deliver them in person. At night she ate meat, fish and peanut butter, replenishing the estimated 8,000 calories she burned a day.

Yep, that’s a lot of calories to replenish each day. I think just eating that much food would tire me out…let alone all the actual SWIMMING she did each day.

Can someone who knows about these things please reassure me that her face is that ghostly shade of white due to some sort of cream? And not the result of too many days splashing about in ocean?

jennifer-figge

“Jennifer plans to swim from Trinidad to the British Virgin Islands in the last leg of her journey.”

Good luck Jenn! Hank misses you (Hank is her Alaskan Malamute).

Time for me to hit the pool…really after reading this I should just go jump in the Bay and do something worth talking about. But it’s a touch chilly outside today and I don’t own a wet suit. Excuses excuses.

Responses

  1. Wow; what an inspiration!!!

    I (finally) got myself signed up for two sprint TRIs this summer and have GOT to get off my butt and GET out there.

  2. Swam across the Atlantic Ocean. I swear I simply have to quit reading your blog! I feel worse about myself daily:)

  3. That is an incredibly inspiring story. You reach for the stars!

  4. they said it took her a month!

  5. Isn’t that just amazing?!

  6. I think it’s amazing and nuts at the same time. Truly incredible, though!

  7. I wondered what was type of crazy sunscreen she was wearing. I just wondered if how much in one sitting was she trying to stuff down? Can’t be 8000 calories, but i’m sure it was a LOT!


Leave a Reply

Categories

