Posted by: forgingahead | February 6, 2009

My Words

kb-blog-word-usage

These are my words.

I have a really funny story about the word *really* and the role it played in my life.

Early in my writing career….I think it was the 4th or 5th grade…a paper that I wrote for class was returned every single instance of *really* circled.

And a note in the sidebar from my teacher said something along the lines of “use the word *really* less often so that it has meaning.”

You can see that advice stuck with me. Seriously though, I actually do make a concerted effort to (a) not use the word so much and (b) re-read my stuff and remove copious amounts of the word.

Imagine my surprise when Bert sent me this lovely Wordle creation. You can do one too! They’re fun. And so many pretty colors. Thank you Bert!

You see it too, don’t you? The dreaded word *really* just shining there in all its glory. In larger font than my husband’s name. But not quite as large as the first word in my horse’s name, Now Voyager. And what’s up with the word muffin? I only wrote about that once!

So I’m here to say that I have some doubts about the accuracy of Wordle…but it’s still a fun thing to do.

Happy Friday!

Responses

  1. I made one of these but didn’t see the html to export it to my blog. How did you do that?

  2. “Time” is pretty big too. 🙂 Mine would probably just be IRONMAN, RUN, blah, blah, blah 🙂 Happy weekend!

  3. I had a problem with like. “then the girl like went to her friends house and like…”
    You’d think I had grown up in The Valley!

  4. That Bert – always coming up with creative things. I love the words in the Kathleen! It’s REALLY cool!

    I’m off to play with Wordle as well!

  5. Hey – I did one of these a few months back, but was unable to do anything with it, the site was restricted. I think it is really cool and would like to get a shirt or tote or something with it. I like yours – REALLY!!! Can’t wait to see you on Tuesday/Wednesday – it will be a great couple of days….Look for me!

  6. Interesting indeed.
    I’m going to check out the link you provided.

    Really!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

