Posted by: forgingahead | February 4, 2009

Perhaps 30 seconds is no big deal

Bert and I have this 14 mile loop we enjoy cycling. Now that we’re inching our distances up past 30+ miles we think the loop is charming. I remember when it was scary.

It’s still a great workout when time is limited. Like this morning. Now the goal is to go as fast as possible the whole way around. Even up the BIG hill.

This morning we were on the road *just* as the sun was beginning to peek over the hills and it was cold. 45* which felt super cold on my face. Thanks to recently purchased arm/leg warmers, wool glove liners, a beautiful wool jersey and a wind jacket I was actually warm inside. And of course the harder I cycled the warmth started spreading around.

There’s a sizeable hill toward the end of the ride that we climb up. Back when I first started cycling (less than a year ago) it would take me 12 minutes to climb the hill. But Bert could do it in 9 minutes so I had a goal. Eventually I was able to meet the 9 minute mark and I must admit I coasted on my laurels a long time.

But Sarah and Charisa said one way to get faster is to get stronger and that means climbing hills. So I’ve been pushing myself a little more each time.

Today I hit a new personal record! 8 minutes and 30 seconds! Woo Hoo! Sure I had a hard time catching my breath at the top but I did it. And that means I can do even better.

Responses

  1. Congrats. That’s awesome you are making so much improvement. Hill training goes a long way towards strength in the flats too. I can’t wait to see how much faster you get up that hill, and recover at the top too.

  2. Congratulations on meeting – and beating – your goal.

  3. Thirty seconds is huge. Way to go!

  4. That’s where it all starts, Kathleen – 30 seconds here, 30 seconds there…it all adds up to minutes.

    I am SO proud of you! I will send you workouts soon I promise. THings have been crazy!

  5. Nice job on that hill!! Beating a goal is such a great feeling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

