Posted by: forgingahead | February 3, 2009

Catching Up: Cyling & Dressage

I had a whirlwind weekend of cycling. And now it’s already Tuesday. Seriously, where did Monday go?

Saturday was the 34 mile loop from Half Moon Bay down to Pescadero and back. Sunny and gorgeous day. Bert and I really pushed each other and we shaved minutes off our time. Sure, I was hoping for a more substantial improvement, but we did have wind in our faces. Going UP. HILL. Yep, that slowed me down.

Sunday we hit the Golden Gate Bridge again because on the weekends cyclists get to ride on the WEST side of the bridge. The side with zero pedestrians. And the side with the spacious view of the big blue ocean. Wow.

This was, quite possibly, the first time I’ve done two longish (for me) rides back to back and my legs were saying, “Are you kidding me here? You really want me to climb this hill. I think not.” Bert kept slowing down and asking if I was ok. I said I was, just a little tired.

Then I did a truly stupid thing. I stopped in a lane of traffic. Well, I was pretty much in the gutter and I moved onto the sidewalk quickly, but I still stopped suddenly. Bert was waiting for me and you should have seen the look on his face. I was happily clueless.

Seems there was a ambulance on my tail and when I stopped he nearly hit me. But he didn’t and now I know that when I’m a little out of it I need to pay attention and maybe sit down a bit before I keep biking in traffic.

I also fit a wonderful horsey ride in on the weekend. Bert came along and took some of his amazing photos. He’s making a calendar for me filled with photos of Now Voyager. He gets the *Best Husband in the World* award in my book.

Here’s one I’m super proud of because Now Voyager is really stepping through at the trot. Nice extension. See the slight uphill angle of his body from tail to head? That’s hard to do and means his hindquarters are really engaged. What a good boy!!

img_0285forkbscreen1

I, on the other hand, should get my shoulders back and sit taller/straighter. So much to work on!

Happy Tuesday!

Responses

  1. Wow – you look pretty tall and straight to me! Great job on the bike rides!

  2. I’m glad that ambulance didn’t run you over!

  3. That is a beautiful picture!
    That is one thing that truly scares me about cycling…doing it in city traffic. *shudder*

  4. Great pictures.I am so proud of you to. It’s so much fun to see Now Voyager swinging.

  5. First – thank goodness you’re safe! And second, this is an incredibly elegant photo! You look amazing K!


Leave a Reply

Categories

