Posted by: forgingahead | January 29, 2009

Muffin Stunned

Today was going to be an amazing day weather-wise here in SF. Clear, sunny and gorgeous. We set the alarm, got up early and headed out on our bikes.

Wow.

We had the Golden Gate Bridge walkway mostly to ourselves…just the occasional bike commuter passed us heading into the city. The views were stunning. Buildings looked like cardboard cutouts against the brilliant blue sky.

I’m ashamed to admit this is the first time I’ve ridden my bike across the bridge since I was 12 years old. Of course biking was just not a part of my life for a bunch of those years. And most of my recently biking escapades have been in Half Moon Bay where there are fewer big bad cars to run me off the road.

So it was a momentous day. Beautiful and momentous.

Across the bridge we dropped down the hill into Sausalito where we stopped for treat at Cafe Trieste. Another first. I’ve never stopped partway through a ride to eat. I mean really stop. Order a latte and a muffin. The sit down and soak up the sun kind of stop.

Can I just tell you how yummy that muffin was? I’m not really a muffin kind of girl. Not nearly crunchy enough. Give me a crunchy scone any day and I’ll nibble all the crunchy edges off and leave the soft middle part to age in the bag.

But Bert insisted I give it a whirl. Promised I’d be happy. Boy was he right. Really, this muffin had more in common with, say, angel food cake. And I love me my angel food cake. Not all time. It’s really insanely sweet and anything of that texture is sure to have zero fiber or redeeming qualities. But still tasty!

We got back on the bikes and headed home. There’s a decent little climb from Sausalito back up to the bridge. Which is how I realized I was muffin stunned. In the midst of a hill I shifted into a harder gear. Twice.

The second time I swore out loud at myself and a smiling woman walking toward me started to laugh. I did apologize for the profanity.

A little later I shifted so badly that my chain dropped right off the gear. I have never done that.

It seems my brain function had been set to sleep mode by the nefarious muffin.

muffin

Clearly I have some training to do if stopping in mid-ride and eating tasty treats is to become a regular thing.

Responses

  1. I’ve never ridden across the bridge!

  2. Sounds very cool to ride across the bridge!
    I know what you mean about the rush of those muffins and the like. A sugar high! Probably well worth it though….every now and then.

  3. Muffin…just a bald cupcake. And who doesn’t love cupcakes!?

  4. I’ve never ridden across the bridge either. Sounds like a great day!

  5. Best muffins I have ever had (and I am a muffin girl) were in SF. Yum!

  6. That’s a riot! I’m so jealous that you can ride across the Golden Gate! What a ride that must be! But I would have to take my camera, which would make it a different kind of ride. 🙂 I’m with you on the muffins though – you obviously hit that sugar low!


Leave a Reply

Categories

