Posted by: forgingahead | January 15, 2009

Hill Repeats are in my Future

A big shout out to Sarah and Charisa for providing some great direction and coaching with regards to my silly question, “how does one get faster on a bike?”

Turns out there is thing that all you real athletes do that us common folk don’t and they are called hill repeats. Yes yes, I know you all mention it in passing on your blogs…but I didn’t have the courage to ask and quite frankly they sounded a little scary anyway.

So, let’s see if I have this right. A hill repeat is…ride up a hill several times in a harder gear faster. Yep, methinks that should build muscle. And maybe make me throw up too, but I’ll take that risk.

In the spirit of getting my head into the game of pushing harder I ran faster tonight. My lungs? They protested. Turns out I’d become a little, shall we say, *comfortable* with my usual sluggish pace.

Well, it’s time to break out and build up! Watch out world, I’m gonna be going a wee bit faster 🙂

Responses

  1. As we like to say, HTFU!!!! 😉

    and you will.

    I will send you some workouts this weekend for sure. Prob Sunday. So keep your eyes posted and enjoy this last little bit of, shall we say…rest. It’s gonna get tough and YOU are going to get stronger and faster!

  2. Good luck! If you’re ever looking for new hills, I highly recommend Euclid between Arguello and Masonic.

  3. The track 🙂 That helped my speed a lot (although hill repeats are much more easy to do if you don’t have a track). I’ve found that the only way to get faster tends to involve workouts where I want to puke the whole time. Running intervals, hills…doing hill repeats on the bike, riding in a race on the track. Good luck with pushing yourself to a new level. You will get there with pushing.

  4. It should be noted that you live in SF – and have CRAZY hills there! Pick a moderate one to start 🙂

  5. The single best workout I’ve been given to improve my bike strength – on any ride, usually 1.5 – 2hours max, find a ride with a few hills, I shoot for 4-6 – i.e. Tiburon to Nicasio or Headlands Loop (twice) or SF to Sausalito via Headlands. ON the climbs ride 45-55 rpm. Recover in between. I’ll actually be doing this on Friday – probably ride the hill from Sausalito to the top of the HEadlands 2x and then back home easy.

  6. I should also note that the ride to Muir beach then north to stinson and up Tam isn’t as bad as it sounds. A great ride to get some hill work in. 2-2.5 hours max I think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

