Posted by: forgingahead | January 12, 2009

A Summer Day in January

It’s official. Global warming is in full swing. At least it was today in San Francisco.

The temp hit 74* downtown, breaking the old record of 67* set in 1948.

What I want to know is how were all those people able to find shorts in their closet on such short notice? My closet is not nearly that organized. It took me 10 minutes just to find a SHORT sleeved shirt. I’m not entirely sure I even own a pair of shorts…other than those lovely tri-shorts which I only wear at night when I run. In the dark.

I digress.

It was a stunningly beautiful day. I knew it was going to be perfection when the wispy clouds turned all soft pink in the early morning. You know when it’s just starting to lighten up and the sky is that robin egg blue that just breaks your heart? It was like that.

I had to go see Now Voyager. Yes, had to. As in a need that must be filled. There is no better way to start the day than with a horse ride.

I’d love to say that our ride was a thing of beauty, but not so much. Anke, world’s best dressage trainer, is pushing me and Now Voyager to get our act together sooner during each ride…and keep it together.

So I was asking for more from Mr. NV and he was protesting. He is, after all is said and done, happiest grazing in his green fields. And he really only tolerates my requests because he’s a good-natured boy who doesn’t mind working. Except when he does.

Yep, that’s my horse. An enigma wrapped up in a condundrum. The point being that today he never really bought off on my plan to ride with a good forward tempo and a nice big stride. And balanced. On the bit and with good flexion and bend. Nope, pretty much none of those things happened.

That’s the great thing about riding, even when things go sideways most every moment is heaven anyway. Well, at least for horse crazy girls like me. So the morning was fabulous! And afterwards Now Voyager got to go play in his pasture and eat all the green grass he could find.

img_5802

Responses

  1. That might be as warm, if not warmer, than here. Enjoy it. I just walked outside and decided it was crisp.

  2. ..and she loves him yeah yeah yeah
    You and NV have the same look.

  3. My folks are on their way to San Francisco…I hope your warm snap ends soon! They just got back from Mexico and Disneyland where is was in the 80s! They need a good dose of that famous fog you all have down there…
    Your horse is gorgeous by the way.

  4. Ohhhh, you guys both look great! So happy you got to enjoy some time with NV today!

  5. LOOOOOOOOOVE that picture!! So precious!! You know you love what you’re doing when even the most off-days are still fun.

    I enjoyed the warmth but I still thought it was bizarre…esp since I’m used to nice long days and my mind was confused when it got dark at 5:30…:)

  6. Global warming is ticking me off. We don’t ever get snow anymore. Just rain. Lots of lots of rain. But, am I bitter? You betcha.

  7. Beautiful horse! This summer in January situation is bizarre but one has to get out and enjoy it if global warming is what to expect.

  8. I love this post. You are a lucky girl!

    Global warming, eh? Tell that to the folks in the midwest and east who are in the Ice Age with record cold… 😉

  9. Global warming confuses people. It’s more like ‘climate change’ so that the folks facing record cold temps don’t feel left out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

