Posted by: forgingahead | January 8, 2009

The Comforting Sounds of Football

There are a lot of college and pro football games on these days. Something about playoffs and bowl games.

I find the rhythms of the game comforting. I can read, write and even nap with football on in background. Isn’t that strange?

Surf on over to a different show, though, and it’s like someone splashed cold water in my face. Not pleasant.

I’m not a huge football fan; more of a fair weather fan. Yes, I was on the SF 49er bandwagon back in the day when all they did was win one Super Bowl after another. Joe Montano, Dwight Clark, Ronnie Lott, Jerry Rice. My personal dream team.

These days I’m a Peyton Manning fan and I will happily sit and watch an entire Colts game.

I’ve never followed college football though folks say it’s fun…maybe because of the wild swings in momentum when the kids get either fired up or devastated.

My mom and dad were married until I was 6 years old and I have a fuzzy memory that Dad was a religious football watcher. Maybe that’s when I developed a fondness for the sounds of football.

As I write this the Florida Gators are beating the Oklahoma Sooners by 3 points with 5 minutes left in the game. This is for the championship and passions are running high. False starts. Interceptions. I have to wrap up this post so I can watch the end of the game.

Responses

  1. To show you how much I respect you, I will not relate to my husband that you were a fair-weather 49ers fan. My husband is loyal to the red and gold to his dying day! For him, there is no other team to root for.
    I never used to like football. But my husband got me hooked. Now I tune in and watch every season…even if he has to miss a game for whatever reason!

  2. GO STEERLERS! 🙂 thanks to my dad. my most memorable Sunday afternoons were spent with my dad watching the Steelers kick the pants off their opposition…

    love Steelers football!! oh and i love Peyton too but the Steelers rule out any rivalries – i just want to have Peyton in my bed 😉

  3. Nothing like good athletic drama – no matter what the sport is! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

