Posted by: forgingahead | January 5, 2009

Make Me Laugh Monday – Security

mmlmHappy New Year! Ready for your first giggle of 2009? Oh, that’s presumptuous of me. To assume that I am the first person to make you laugh. Scratch that. Silly idea. Of course you’ve been laughing your head off. I just hope to add to your general state of merriment.

Today I have a story about an event that I managed. Sounds dry? It’s not. Names and places have been changed to protect the innocent.

One of the key things that any good event has is great signage. Yes folks, that’s a word. Signage. Those lovely laminated pieces of foam core printed in pretty colors with clear messages strategically placed around the venue so that your attendees know where to go.

So we had signage in the lobby of the hotel. And then the CEO dropped by to give a speech and rally the troops. And about 15 minutes later Curly showed up. Who is he? Head of Security for the Acme Company. Uh oh.

Mr. CEO was not pleased with the signage in the lobby. Apparently this was a super secret meeting and he wanted signage removed. No one associated with this event was aware of need for said super secretness but fine. No problem. I ran downstairs and removed the offending material. Curly said thank you and left.

About 20 minutes later I went to the lobby to check on something and saw Curly sitting on a bench deeply immersed in his Blackberry. I didn’t want to interrupt so I went about my business.

A half hour later Mr. CEO departs the premises. Another 10 minutes tick by and then Curly reappears. He says he just happened to run into Mr. CEO and wanted to reassure us that everything was fine.

That’s the part that makes me giggle every time. The *just happened to* part.

Sure, had I been lying in wait in the lobby I would have *happened* to have run into him too.

Now head on over to JennyontheSpot for more merriment and giggles. It’s a great way to start the week!

Responses

  1. Hahahaa…. Ha! You wanna know what I also love about this story? The name “Curly”… is there a story behind that too? Heeheee…

    You always make me laugh 🙂

  2. Haha! Love it. I think I need to “just happen” to stop by Starbucks on my way home too! 🙂 Happy Monday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

