Posted by: forgingahead | December 7, 2008

Not Feeling Funny

For the last several weeks I’ve been enjoying recounting humorous moments in my life as my little contribution to Jenny’s Make Me Laugh Monday posts.

Tonight, however, I have to report I’m experiencing *Funny Fail*. Life has me a little bit down. Factoring in that it’s that time of the month and my emotions tend to be slightly out of whack anyway I’m not terribly worried. [Note to self: I just wrote “I’m terribly worried” and had to go back and add the “not.” Freudian slip?]

I popped over to Jenny’s site to see if she’d posted something funny to inspire me. I found this wonderful piece that resonated perfectly with my state of mind. She talks about how sweet the downhill is on a run after tackling the uphill and how that’s a metaphor for life. She’s right. She also says it better and it’s worth reading.

I feel like I’m in the midst of what is likely to be a REALLY long uphill climb (metaphorically and job-related) and now thanks to Jenny I’ll remember how freeing it will be to come flying down the other side (I’m on my bike in my metaphor).

Speaking of bikes, one of the things that kind of bummed me out this weekend was missing out on Sarah’s Birthday Bike Ride in Sonoma County. I declared myself not in good enough biking shape to keep up with Sarah and her fast friends. But I am thrilled to see that they had a great day and she posted bunches of fabulous photos.

Plus now that I’ve signed up for the Livestrong Challenge Century Ride I’ll be begging Sarah to take me on lots of training rides. Just as soon as I get anywhere near her level.

Stay tuned for the return of happy Kathleen. She’s in there, just a little overwhelmed by circumstances.

Responses

  1. The Monthly…ick. Hope you feel better soon.

  2. i am in the in very same place right now. here’s hoping we emerge in the light sooner than later. keep your chin up and i’ll do the same…
    🙂 kb

  3. Hang in there – sometimes it gets worse, but then it ALWAYS gets better. And once it is better you appreciate it so much more 🙂

  4. It is true, we don’t appreciate the mountains without the valleys…but sometimes the valleys really just suck. I hope you get to the top of the mountain soon and can just enjoy. Hang in there.

  5. SO not what I wanted to hear Kathleen. I’m sorry. I am sure you’re a driven person, and having uncertainty is rattling. You can use the time to get energized and recharge. You’re strong, and there’s not doubt in my mind that you can do anything. Let’s read some good books together in the meantime. 🙂 Sending a hug your way.

  6. Aww Kathleen. Very true words already spoken here. Life is not without its downs. And like Jenny said, it makes the ups (or should I say, the uphill climbs make the DOWNHILLS) that much sweeter.

    And it’s so easy when our emotions are running rampant (damn hormones) to feel overwhelmed by all of the things in our life that are not going right.

    But maybe find some things in your life that ARE going right. Surely there are many things in your life that are awesome right now, too?

    It’s also easy right now when the weather is cold to feel blah. You’re strong, though. You’ll pull through AND you will become a stronger rider! You’ve got commitment and desire and that’s all it takes. Keep your chin up and try to smile even when you don’t feel like it – it will make you feel better. 🙂

    Hugs,
    S


Leave a Reply

Categories

