Posted by: forgingahead | November 17, 2008

Make Me Laugh Monday: Kites

mmlm

Visit Jenny on the Spot for more MMLM silliness.

We moved to Phoenix when I was 5 years old. Into a new subdivision that had been plopped into the desert overnight. I know this because right across the street the desert was still there. A desert filled with dramatically stoic Saguaro cactus.

Back home kite flying had been a favorite pastime. From the perspective of this 5 year old mind I saw no reason to alter my behavior.

So one morning the wind was just right and off I went into the cactus forest. Launched my kite. Enjoyed about 5 minutes of blissful success. And then tragedy struck.

My kite was impaled on a some serious thorns. And shredded.

2222319698_5da56f5e9a_m

Lesson learned. Kite flying and cactus do not mix.

I took up riding horses instead.

Responses

  1. Ha… but, have you been able to take that wisdom and apply it to a bigger picture… like NOT riding horses in a catus forest?

    heeeheeeheee… This story reminds me of the time when I was a kid that I thought doing a cartwheel on a soap lathered slip-n-slide would be a really cool idea! I TOTALLY should have broken my wrists.

  2. Cacti are also really bad if you accidentally run into them (which embarrassingly I’ve done more than once!)

  3. Oh. My. Whoda thought?!

  4. And that’s how it started. So nice to know the beginning of the story. 🙂

  5. Phew, for a moment I thought you were heading for the thorns. But then I realized that wouldn’t be funny…

    Beautiful photo! What a talented hubby you have.

  6. A cactus forest and a kite is how you got into horseback riding? I guess there are crazier things right?


Leave a Reply

Categories

