Posted by: forgingahead | November 12, 2008

Pre-Holiday Shopping Rush

I was out and about running errands around the city today.

It was about 3pm and there seemed to be decidedly large quantities of other people in their cars running errands in the same locations I was frequenting.

San Francisco is legendary for its double parking and today was no different. Couple that with city buses going down narrow streets and one finds oneself trying to be extra patient.

Then I got in line at Peets coffee – the line for coffee beans. This is usually the faster of the two lines but today I was to be foiled at every turn. No bother. The wait allowed me ample time to peruse the case of baked goods and read all the alluring signage about holiday beverage offerings.

By the time I got to the front of the line I’d settled on a medium peppermint mocha WITH whipped cream as my special treat.

Imagine my dismay when I was informed that they had in fact run OUT of peppermint syrup. The horror. A small non-fat latte then. Small condolence but still full of the elixir of life…caffeine.

As I was hustling back to my hard won parking spot it dawned on me what the mood was in the air. Pre-holiday shopping rush.

Everyone was hurried and slightly excited and vaguely worried that they weren’t going to GET. IT. ALL. DONE. in time for the holiday deadline.

Perhaps I was imaging things. But I think not.

hanging on for the ride,
kathleen

Responses

  1. I want to try track bike too – it seems scary and fun all at once! They have one in San Diego where you can take a class and learn – too bad you don’t live closer, we could try it at the same time! And ohhhhhh, holiday coffee drinks are so fun and festive! 🙂

  2. I feel it too. Yesterday when I was driving around up here, there was just something kind of different in the air…

  3. Oh but bummer about the peppermint, boo!


Leave a Reply

Categories

