Posted by: forgingahead | October 30, 2008

The Calm Before the Storm

I feel a bit like I’m teetering on a precipice. Like riding a roller coaster, the feeling is not all together unwelcome. But it is unsettling.

There are several *events* that are noodling around in my brain and keeping me off balance.

On Saturday there is a cross-country race that my good buddy Sarah is doing and I so want to join her. Well, join her at the start anyway cause this girl runs FAST and I DO. NOT. RUN. FAST. But now it’s raining and I’m being a baby about running in the mud. [note to self: get over it!]

Sunday is going to be 100% fun because my favorite 2 year old is getting dunked christened at the lovely Grace Cathedral on Nob Hill. We’re going to get all dressed up for the big event and then his folks are treating us to a fine lunch at Greens, the *best* vegetarian restaurant in SF. So clearly Sunday isn’t contributing to my sense of uneasy watchfulness.

Then there’s this little thing next Tuesday called a presidential election. That’s a big unknown and its outcome is going to impact all our lives dramatically whichever way it goes. If I had to blame any one thing on my unrest it’s this election.

Wednesday is the launch of a big event I’ve been working on for months and like all events it will be full of last minute crises and changes and scramblings. Oddly enough I’m ok with that. I just like to GET GOING and the few days before launch usually make me a little crazy. Just a bit though. I don’t want you getting all worried and sending out the nice men in the white coats (do they still do that?).

Hey you know what? I feel better just having put these thoughts down and writing and sharing them with you.

Thanks for helping!
Kathleen

p.s. And even though you didn’t ask, let me share with you what I plan to order at Greens:

Yukon Gold Potato and Scallion Cakes with St. George cheddar and Italian parsley. Served with eggs over easy, pesto, roasted tomato and garlic sauce and arugula. YUMMY!

Responses

  1. Ohhhhhhh I love the Greens!!!! We ate there last year when I did Escape from Alcatraz Tri – it was my favorite place since I’m vegetarian!!! Have fun in the CC race – that are all just for fun anyway – no matter how fast you run. Get dirty – CC is meant for you to get dirty, so rain is perfect! 🙂 Happy Friday!

  2. Maybe it’s the weather as well? It kind of has me off balance, too. Since you have a friend to run with, go and have fun. You used to like jumping in every puddle along the way (wearing rain boots); so relive your childhood and enjoy!

    Love,

    Mom

  3. Hi Mom!

    Hey thanks for reminding me that I actually enjoy getting wet feet!

    You are so right…I’m gonna do it.

    Love, Kathleen

  4. Hi! I like your blog.
    I will try to send you some pix from the 13th snowiest place 🙂

  5. I am with you – in that whole “unresty” sorta feeling. I feel so unsettled… unsure, but I don’t have a big launch on Wednesday! I sure hope that goes smoothly…

    BTW… how was that lunch? Sounds delish!


Leave a Reply

Categories

