Posted by: forgingahead | October 28, 2008

Visiting My Other Life

First, a few things about me (ah, the joys of being able to write whatever I want…so refreshing!)

**I live in SF – fog, noise, a general bustle that a city creates.

**I have no kids – a husband, a cat and horse but no little ones or not so little ones.

**I live in a 1,100 square foot Victorian flat – neighbors close by on both sides and one down below. No proper guest room and every inch made useful.

So when Bert and I drive to the posh suburb of Granite Bay outside Sacramento I jokingly call it visiting *my other life*

Our friends are lovely people and spending time with them is a treasure and the real reason we fight through two hours of traffic on a weekend to get there.

However Bert and I were chatting on the drive about what else makes going to Granite Bay fun and I realized it’s like visiting an alternate life. One that many people live.

**Granite Bay is warm in the summer and cold in the winter. Like real seasons where the trees change color and everything. I like that. And it’s QUIET.

**Granite Bay has lots of families who do lots of family things together and it’s fun to hear the stories of how their 14 year old high school sophomore is juggling water polo and yearbook and what seem to be a million other activities. And how mom is in charge of a cool program that connects each teacher with a family that spoils them through the school year. Plus this family has two super cool Jack Russell Terriers so I can get my dog fix.

**Their home is spacious and lovely and we have what I like to think of as *MY* guest room which is quite pretty and peaceful and homey. I do wish I had something like this to offer our guests. The pool and hot tub are an added bonus…especially the hot tub after a yummy dinner, a bottle (to two) of wine and lots of great conversation.

My other life gave me a wink as we were driving away and invited me to visit any old time. Just as my real life embraced me upon my return.

happy halloween week,

kathleen

Responses

  1. Sounds heavenly Kathleen! I could live like that too! It must be nice to have an escape and another life to slip into.

  2. Sounds like fun. I love getting away. My BF’s company owns a nice hotel on Maui. It’s so nice to get away over there.

  3. I’m the same way – except my husband and I go to SF and I love to dream of what it would be like to live there :). Happy Halloween week!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

