Posted by: forgingahead | October 22, 2008

A Hot Wind from the East

I could tell at 6am that the morning would be perfection for a bike ride. A warm breeze was already blowing from the East – a sure sign of a hot San Francisco day.

Yesterday my brand new beautiful Fat Cyclist jersey arrived in the mail and it was begging me to take it out on the open road.

I love this jersey for many reasons, not the least of which is it fits me perfectly and I feel just so cute and sporty wearing it!

I love it because it makes me smile when I think of reading Elden’s blog…he often makes me smile.

I love it because it has a horse on it. The horse ties in because in some competitions (triathlons and cycling?) Clydesdales are the designation of *hefty* or 200+ pound athletes. Hey, I used to fit those parameters!

But the biggest reason I love my new jersey is I get to bike for Elden’s wife Susan who is fighting metastatic breast cancer. And I like Susan. Oh, I haven’t met her. They live in Utah and I’m in California. But her spunk and wisdom and general good nature shine through in Elden’s blog. So I’m sayin’ I *know* her.

Back to my morning ride…I hit the road just as the sun peeked over the hills and lit up the ocean. I ride a loop that starts due south down Highway One. Now there’s usually a pretty brisk northwesterly wind blowing on the coast and this kind of pushes me along for the first few miles.

Well today the wind was most definitely southeasterly and it was pushing me back and saying “oh, so you think you’re just going to enjoy this warm air, do you? I don’t think so!”

So pushed along and then turned left and headed east into the valley. More quixotic winds making things interesting. It was fabulous!

Once I made it over the big hill and back down the other side I hit a flat stretch heading straight back to the ocean. This time the wind was at my back and I was in my biggest gear pedaling like a madwoman and barely able to keep up. Woo hoo!

I kept Susan in mind while cycling along and kept saying to myself “Susan will be well. Susan will be healthy.” I really believe in the power of positive thinking. And the power of a cute new jersey.

happy cycling,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. Never ever underestimate the power of positive thought. It is SO important.

    You’ll have to take me on this loop someday…I’ve never been where you speak of. Sounds beautiful!

    And congrats on feeling cute!

  2. Never ever underestimate the power of positive thought. It is SO important.

    You’ll have to take me on this loop someday…I’ve never been where you speak of. Sounds beautiful!

    And congrats on the cute new jersey!


Leave a Reply

Categories

