Posted by: forgingahead | October 17, 2008

Weeding in the Dark

We’re in a full blown Indian summer here in San Francisco. Warm days. Warmer nights. No wind.

I just love how warm weather changes the pace of life. For example, I started weeding in the garden last night. It was cooler outside…the air was soft…and those darn weeds were begging to be pulled.

On went my gloves and out came the cushy pads for my knees. And of course my favorite tool which pretty much looks like a screwdriver but works so well to loosen up those stubborn weed roots.

There’s something so satisfying about pulling weeks. My goal was to clear one entire bed that runs the length of our yard. Release the Calla Lillies and Agapanthus from their weedy bonds. My deadline was natural light and that was fading fast.

There’s a groove that I fall into when weeding and I start to see each weed clump more clearly as I move along. I guess you could call it a weeding zone. The result? A weed free yard that looks so nice it tidy.

soaking up the sun,
kathleen

Responses

  1. I love ‘gardening’ and things like that. Too bad I’m so bad at it. But I still try to plant flowers every year. It’s so relaxing. And then they die 😦

  2. Oh, I LOVE the feeling a weed-free garden give. It is one of my greatest joys. I don’t know why, but it is so refreshing to see a tended garden. Not that mine is right now… but I LOVE the feeling when it is! Kudos for a job well done!


Leave a Reply

Categories

