Posted by: forgingahead | October 15, 2008

Why I Ran Tonight

No I’m not running for political office…more like running to keep my sanity, my health and shades of my figure.

It was a tough tough day. Bert and I pounded out the last review of our taxes. Always a painful process. Plus there was a big scary meeting at work today. Ok, not really scary but definitely high profile with a lot of people and their opinions…kind of like herding cats.

Suffice to say that when I called Bert from the train and he suggested picking me up at the station and then grabbing a tasty pizza from Little Star for dinner I agreed. Rather quickly and wholeheartedly.

And when we got home I rather quickly and wholeheartedly ate two pieces of that tasty pizza. And then a single serving of Kozy Shack chocolate pudding. And then a few spoonfuls of chocolate ice cream. All of this on top of a day filled with waaaay too much food and definitely too many carbs.

So I went for a run. The evening was beckoning me to come out and play. Warm nights with little to no breeze are such a rarity that they simply *must* be enjoyed. It was the right thing to do and I feel immensely more centered, grounded and happy.

I wanted to share a couple of photos…this full moon has been literally following me around lately.

This first photo I took Monday night around 7pm. The sun setting in the west was glinting off the apartment building windows. And the moon is rising above them. My photo doesn’t do justice to the quality of the light, but you get the idea…

This one I took 12 hours later at 7am on my way to the barn. I stopped on Devil’s Slide (yep, that’s the name of the section of Highway One) just to snap this pic for you! I never ever stop on this road…that’s something tourists do. But it was so early and the scene was so lovely I had to do it. Trust me, this really is the moon setting…as much as it looks like it could be the sun too.

I took one of the cliffs of Devil’s Slide as well…it’s such a pretty stretch of coastline.

loving october,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. that run sounds amazing 🙂 and i love the pics, thanks for sharing a bit of your world with us!

  2. oh i love the photos! thank you for sharing them!

  3. I love where we live. Sometimes it’s fun to remember to stop an seize the moment in all its beauty. That moon has been awesome lately, hasn’t it? I love the October full moon, it’s got to be one of the most gorgeous times. We saw it rising at the track workout on Tuesday evening coming up over the hills of Anadel and it was just incredible.

    I love the one from Devil’s slide – so inspiring!

  4. That moon sure has been beautiful this week. Isn’t it weird to think that we all are seeing the same thing no matter where we live on this globe as long as it’s not overcast? Makes me feel small and the world very large and mysterious. Anyway, a beautiful moon this October.

  5. Good for you! I am always so much better mentally when I’ve carved out time for a run… I love the picture of the city/moon. And the the moonset – what a lovely place to live, my dear… *swoon*


Leave a Reply

Categories

