Posted by: forgingahead | October 2, 2008

Finish Photos

No, not Finnish photos…though those would be fun too. Hang on a sec and I’ll check the Flickr commons site to see what I find…

Ooooh, here’s a very nice photo of a “Farm owned by James Pompey, who 20 years ago came from Italy on the advice of a brother, Southington, Connecticut. People of Finnish, Slav, German, and Polish extraction help him to farm it (LOC) by The Library of Congress.”

Ok, so not terribly Finnish…this guy was just *helped* by some Finnish dudes.

Or lookit this one…now there’s a triathlete build albeit circa 1910!

Here’s a bit of background from Wikipedia

Juho Pietari “Hannes” Kolehmainen (9 December 1889 – 11 January 1966) was a Finnish long-distance runner. He is considered to be the first of a generation of great Finnish long distance runners, often named the “Flying Finns”.

Let’s compare his running photo to mine, shall we? That’s me on the right *behind* the other woman.

Fine running style, no? Flying Finn potential? I think not.

Hey, this is fun. Lemme find a cycling photo to play with…

This is a photo of Jackie Clark, also known as the Australian Rocket. How’s that for a cool moniker? This photo was taken in December 1912.

Now for a modern day action cycling photo…yours truly:

I most definitely see similarities between me and Mr. Rocket.

Thank you for joining me on this little photo essay where we compare and contrast athletic styles through the ages.

And I just know all you English majors cringed a bit when I wrote *compare and contrast*. I know I did 🙂

waiting for rain,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. You look spectacular on that bike! I’m so proud of you (and a little jealous too). Keep it up sister!

  2. You know, I was totally fine with this post until you wrote “compare and contrast.” Then I was faced with horrible memories from childhood and teenage years, frustratingly sitting down and coming up with as much creativity as I could to “compare and contrast.” BLEEEECHHH!

    Cute pictures, btw. 🙂

  3. OK – i tried commenting on this post 2 days ago, but something happened with the kids… ANYWAY… Just wanted to come back and tell ya – I love this post! So funny and stinkin’ creative!

    Also, you rock, you crazy triathlete!


Leave a Reply

Categories

