Posted by: forgingahead | September 19, 2008

The Thrill of the Chase

So ya’ll know that in my first triathlon event there wasn’t much chasing going on for this here novice.

Rather more like a lot of following…though I guess it would have been nice to see the people in front of me so I could feel like I was following someone…other than my race pal Allison who lead the way. Thanks Allison!

I digress. And no, I’m not complaining. The race plan was to simply finish. I did that and I’m happy. Thrilled. Over the moon.

However, I continue to read the blogs of real triathletes and their tales of chasing down people ahead of them are thrilling. People like Jenny and Sarah.

Women who are competing in the US Triathlon Association NATIONALS this weekend like Kelly and Courtenay. Good luck ladies!!

And my new friend Maggs who lives in Hawaii and is training for the Ironman Hawaii. Let’s all mark our calendars for October 11th and spend some time that day sending good vibes over the ocean to Maggs!

These women have wonderful stories of motivating themselves during the race by setting mini goals like picking someone to pass.

Having not had the chance to experience such a moment (even in training) imagine my surprise the other morning on my bike ride when I saw a yellow jersey in the distance. Even more surprised when I seemed to be gaining on him. I was totally tickled and picked up my pace a bit.

Of course it turns out he was on a mountain bike and about 30 years older than me…and who knows how far he’d already ridden down the coast. So it wasn’t really so much a triumph but I got a taste of the feeling.

The next day during my run around the streets of San Francisco I encountered another runner going my way. This is kind of unusual and even more so was the fact that I seemed to be gaining on her. Now, I’ve mentioned my glacial pace of 12 minutes/mile so I don’t often encounter people going slower.

I swear, I was like one of those horses chasing a carrot on a stick…picked up my pace and jogged on by. At least she was younger than me 🙂

I’m pretty excited to do this sprint triathlon on the 27th…even hopeful that I can find my very own person to chase down somewhere along the way. Here’s to setting goals!

off on a bike ride,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. Just pick them off one at a time. It’s so much fun to do and to see how hard you can push it at the end. Good luck this weekend! And thanks for the encouragement!

  2. thanks for the nice words on my blog 🙂

    just you wait. after you reel in your first couple and leave ’em in the dust at a race, you’ll be hooked and you’ll have to start going to PA meetings…”Hi, I’m Kathleen and I’m a passaholic…”

    “Hi, Kathleen”

    kick butt at your race. reel ’em in, nice and slow and WHAM! you just might get to be a land shark 😉

  3. Haha! Kaiten said, “passaholic”… that’s awesome!

    She is right on it – you kick butt – whatever your speed! You’re doin’ it, and that is far more than most of the world! You know you rock… c’mon… Look in the mirror and say it, “I rock. So much. I. Rock!”

    Can I just say, I am laughing so freaking hard that you included me in the sentence of people who are “real triathletes”! I have finally gotten to the point where I will say, “I’m a triathlete”, but I still giggle, ‘cuz I do ’em, but… Isn’t it funny how we perceive ourselves.

    You are so busy and have so many things you do – to add triathlons is unbelievable. You really do rock.. so on the 27th, my friend…. ROCK ON!!!

  4. thanks for the good wishes!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

