Posted by: forgingahead | September 10, 2008

Cycling Up Twin Peaks

It was a banner morning. I just jumped on the ‘ol “new” bike and headed up the hill.

Living in SF it’s not so hard to find a hill. This morning I chose the third highest one. No, not because I’m a sadist. More because it’s the closet one to my house. And I didn’t want to deal with a stop sign at EVERY intersection.

The lesson I learned this morning is that you really do need to warm up on some flat stretches of road before going up Clipper. I stopped halfway up the hill, sipped some Heed and let my trembling legs regroup. It’s a 340 foot elevation gain over one mile. That’s pretty darn steep.

Then I cycled on over through a bit of traffic to Twin Peaks Boulevard. As long as you’re there early enough to avoid the ginormous buses bringing all those tourists to the best view in the city then this road is the bomb. Gentle incline winding up and around the peaks…breathtaking views of the city.

This morning, even though the city itself was shrouded in fog, I could see the sun beam breaking through clouds over the bay…that took my mind off the climb! Bert took the photo at the top of this blog from Twin Peaks early one morning…just to give you a sample of the views of which I speak.

The section from the top of Clipper to the top of Twin Peaks (the road – not the actual Peak which involves wooden stairs notched into the hillside) is another 240 foot elevation climb over a mile. This seemed downright easy compared with Clipper.

My friend Linea used to live here in SF and she’d do this ride a lot – I want to say every morning but that may not be right. I’ll have to check. Regardless, it was one of those things I always thought was totally amazing and NO WAY could I do it.

Ha. That was the old KB – this newly redesigned fitness model fears no hills. Ok, maybe some hills. But not Twin Peaks anymore!

high on cycling,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. YEAH!!!! Fear not the hills. They make you stronger. THey make you realize that you can do ANYTHING if you just keep putting one foot in front of the other (or in this case, pedaling one foot in front of the other…).

    I can’t tell you how many times I thought “oh, I don’t know if I could do that hill…” and then I just was like “well, I just have to try” and I was SO REWARDED. The views from the tops of hills are really the best…well…actually for me, the biggest reward for a tough climb is a SWEET descent I don’t have to brake much on that goes on for awhile.

    Anyway, I can only imagine what it must’ve looked like this morning. GO KATHLEEN!! Good job!

    p.s. what part of town do you live? I think I know Clipper…I used to live in the inner sunset and we have some friends who live at 14th and Pacheco so I know that whole part of town pretty decently…


Leave a Reply

Categories

