Posted by: forgingahead | September 4, 2008

Carbs are Evil

Curses on Trader Joe’s for producing the world’s tastiest crackers. They’re called the “everything” cracker and I’m pretty sure that’s because they know once you open the box you’ll eat everything in it.

That’s what happened to me yesterday. In a moment of weakness I cavalierly tossed a box in my shopping cart. In a second moment of weakness I opened the box when I returned home.

The “reason” I opened the box was to facilitate the consumption of some healthy (albeit mercury-laden) tuna. All went well until the tuna was gone. I put away the box.

Then a work email came through that stressed me out a bit. Suddenly I was craving more crackers. I just love the CRUNCH. And the salt. And whatever super tasty secret things TJs puts into these bite-sized pieces of heaven.

I. ATE. THE. BOX. Yes, the whole box. All One Thousand Two Hundred Sixty Calories. 9 servings at 140 calories a serving.

So there was nothing for it but to run. Far and fast and no matter that I had no protein in my system…only stupid calorie laden carbs.

The run garnered me a 680 calories deficit which put a small dent in the cracker fiasco. But I did eat other food earlier that day so it was a PLUS day on the ‘ol calorie scale.

I shall throw down the gauntlet and promise you that I’m backing off the carbs. Maybe if it’s a public declaration I’ll think twice before opening my mouth.

That didn’t stop me from partaking in a very tasty sandwich from the ACME bread vendor at the SF Ferry Building today at lunch.

PLEASE. SEND. HELP.
Kathleen

Responses

  1. An occasional slip is NORMAL. As long as it’s occasional and you don’t let it get the best of you, beat yourself up and eat ANOTHER box. Take heart – you had a stressful situation and ate a few crackers – better that than a whole loaf of bread, a gallon of ice cream – or who knows what!

    You are in control of this – look – you went and ran it off – the perfect antidote!

    You have a whole new opportunity to learn about – weight maintenance. It will be up and down. As long you are conscious of what you are doing – And you are VERY conscious, you are in control!

    Take care of yourself.

    Love,

    Coach Allison

  2. Thanks coach for your words of wisdom. You keep telling me it’s a marathon, not a sprint – this weight maintenance thing. A lifestyle. Good to have you keeping a watchful eye on me 🙂 It makes me feel like I’m part of a team – Team Health!

    Hugs, Kathleen


Leave a Reply

Categories

