Posted by: forgingahead | September 2, 2008

Back in the Saddle(s)

Yesterday was the Kathleen version of a perfect day. Not too hot, not too cold, the day dawned with clear skies (a real rarity this summer in SF).

I loaded the bike into the car and headed to Half Moon Bay. It’s been a week since the triathlon and time to get back into the bike saddle. The ride felt fabulous! A warm breeze brushed my cheeks as I cycled inland toward Tracy Chapman’s house. Not that I know Tracy. Just where she lives. And no, I’m not one of those weird stalker type people – it’s just something I murmur to myself as I bike by…”Tracy lives there. How cool.”

I rarely come across a cyclist going my direction on this 12 mile loop but this morning a guy went flying by me on the approach to the big hill. You know that feeling when you’re pretty proud of yourself chugging along and then someone with serious speed and strength makes you feel like you’re a slacker? That was me.

So I pushed it up the big hill. Harder than ever. Stayed in a harder gear and increased my RPMs. He of course was long gone but it’s the principle of the thing. I made it up in 9 minutes – 30 seconds faster than my previous best.

After the bike ride I drove the 6 blocks to the barn where I climbed into my favorite kind of saddle…dressage. Now Voyager was game for hacking around the arena and someone kindly set up poles on the ground that we trotted over.

I love how Now Voyager approaches new things. The ears point straight forward as far as possible and he arches his neck to get a better look. His whole body kind of tenses up and as he nearly tip-toes toward the thing. It helped that other people were trotting their horses over the poles too so he figured they weren’t some sort of weird horse-eating apparatus.

So there you have it…the perfect day. A lovely bike ride along the coast and into the hills followed by hours at the barn with my big ‘ol thoroughbred Now Voyager.

happy,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. What a fantastic day! I never did dressage but I do know how much patience and discipline it takes. 🙂

    And good for you for pushing up the hill – that’s how we all get stronger.

    I noticed you have Morgan on your blogroll – how do you know her? I knew it was only a matter of time before we found common friends! I used to swim with her in Berkeley when I lived there. 🙂

  2. Sounds wonderful! Good for you for pushing up that hill… You would not have called a long bike ride FUN 9 months ago!

    Your connection with Now Voyager sounds wonderful. One day I look forward to meeting the guy! Do you have a picture on the blog?

    Have another great day tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

