Posted by: forgingahead | August 28, 2008

Running Interlude

I meant to write part 3 of my tri-escapades tonight but it’s so darn HOT here (yep, it’s our SF Indian Summer) that I had to get out of the house. So I went for a run! First exercise since the race last Saturday…when you factor in the taper week and I’ve basically been a slug for 8 of the last 9 days. It was time.

So I tucked my earbuds in and struck off on my usual 5 mile loop. I played the game I like to call “will I, won’t I” as I started rationalizing why I’d turn around at the 1.2 mile mark. You know, things like my body is still tired from the big race and maybe needs more time to recover. Or it’s really dark out here and while Noe Valley is pretty safe, that big bad Glenn Park has some unsavory types. Blah blah blah.

The good news is when I got to the Noe Valley border of 30th street and Sanchez I’d only been running 13 minutes and I just wanted to keep going. How cool is that?!

So I’m gonna share a couple more pics from the race with ya’ll to make up for the lack of story telling. And I promise I’ll be back with part 3 soon.

Also, a big SHOUT OUT to new my new-found tri-blog buddies Courtenay Brown and Sarah Tri Adventure who are that rare combo of triathlete and horsewoman! I feel a special bond with them both!

Ok, photo time…

This is is fun cause it shows all the bikes and also the section of ocean where we swam. I look a little funny cause I have banana in my mouth and I’m trying to eat and smile and not show food (mom taught me better than that!)

In this one you can see what’s left of the lovely penmanship on our legs…in case our numbers fall off and we become delirious they’ll still be able to identify us. You can see that banana I referred to earlier in my hand. Gotta have fuel!

Off to sleep,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. Yes, glad you remembered, don’t smile with your mouth full! You are a wonderful, remarkable woman, my daughter. Savor the accomplishments you made over the last (almost) year and keep on forging ahead. I am so very proud of you and love you very much!

  2. Isn’t my mom the best? Love you!

  3. You are a Runner!

    What do you think of that?


Leave a Reply

Categories

