Posted by: forgingahead | August 22, 2008

Santa Barbara Heat

Ah, I always forget that 65 degrees in Santa Barbara is SO much warmer than the same temp in San Francisco. It’s hot here folks and that’s not good news for your favorite novice triathlete.

There is a silver lining though – it is overcast this morning. Now, can we all join hands and make a wish that tomorrow dawns the same way? I need all the help I can get!

Bert, Allison and I are going to the “first timers” clinic later today and picking up our packet of stuff. Here’s something I didn’t know…they give you the t-shirt today. Before the race. Oh, that’s tempting. I can just wear the t-shirt around and weave tall tales of my triathlon escapade. I’m just kidding (sorta).

I’ll post more later after we check out the scene.

Update at 12:50pm – the sun came out at noon – locals say that’s been the trend. Good thing I brought a hat to run in 🙂

Update at 8:30pm – the first-timers clinic was fabulous! The guy coaches the UCSB Triathlon team and he knows A LOT! So we’re feeling super well prepared for tomorrow.

A giant THANK YOU to my good buddy jennyonthespot for her wicked wonderful support and encouragement and linky-love…she’s my hero (6 triathlons!) and I hope to do her proud tomorrow!

last taper day, tomorrow we race!
Kathleen

Responses

  1. You go girl!

    I’ll be rooting on the side lines … well sort of … from Michigan. Can’t wait for the follow-up post.

    Be safe.

  2. I’ll be thinking about you two tomorrow. Get good sleep tonight and have a GREAT time!

  3. kathleen – i’m waiting on pins and needles to hear how it went! sending strong thoughts your way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

