Posted by: forgingahead | August 18, 2008

Fast Biking

There’s this 15 mile loop in Half Moon Bay that Bert’s been doing on his bike for months and months. I started doing it too a month or so ago. It has one giant climb that takes me about 9 1/2 minutes in my easiest to pedal gear.

Up until a week ago I was borrowing Bert’s bike for these rides. We have a tandem bike on loan that we use to train with too, but it’s good to get saddle time on a single. So he would ride the loop some days. I would ride the loop other days. But not once had we ridden the loop together (sadness).

My new (used) lovely Trek bike arrived in the mail from its former home in North Carolina (thank you Bert for finding said bike and winning the eBay auction!) a couple of weeks ago. So off we went, anxious to ride the loop together. Plus I signed up to do an unprecedented (for me) two loops to make sure I could do 30 miles without falling of the bike.

Bert was waaaaay ahead most of the ride. Being the kind and thoughtful person that he is he’d circle back now and again to make sure I was ok. But the fact of the matter was I really couldn’t keep up. I’m ok with that. He’s a real cyclist.

Yesterday we did the loop again. Second time together. This time he was going to do two loops and I only signed up for one. Had to leave time to ride Now Voyager, didn’t I? I got my priorities straight! So what there’s a big ‘ol triathlon in 5 days…my horse needs me too.

I digress.

Since I was only doing one loop I decided to put everything I had into it. That included keeping up with Bert. Turns out it’s kind of fun to pass each other and sprint at different points in the ride. We were both huffing and puffing but it was great!

My favorite thing to do is sneak up on him (not easy since he looks back a lot to see where I am). But if I can get some good speed up I can zip by for a few moments at least. Accompanied, of course, by much gleeful shouting and talking smack…I’m good at that part of competition at least.

Bert paid me the highest compliment when we finished the ride…said I’m looking like a real athlete. Warms my heart.

happy tapering,
Kathleen

Responses

  1. I’m having fun reading all these – my life has just been too hectic. What a day that must have been! I can’t wait to ride with you – and I hope I can keep up with you! We’re going to have a blast!

  2. Ha! That is awesome! Congrats on the bike!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

