Posted by: forgingahead | August 13, 2008

Musical Fortune Telling Take 2

My friend Jenny on the Spot reposted a “musical fortune telling” post she’d done back in 2006 and invited her readers to explore the fortune telling powers of our iPods.

Well I’ve been curled up here in my big chair and half trying to recover from my mile swim this morning and this seems like a great way to spend my recovery time before I fall asleep (again).

So a big shout out to Jenny! Thanks for the suggestion!

I asked her original questions of my own iPod selection…here’s what happened:

How does the world see you?

“Forever my Friend” by Ray LaMontagne (I can sorta see that…I’m a friendly sort of Leo)

Will I have a happy life?
“Somewhere over the Rainbow” by Isreal Kamakawiwo’ole (how very wizard of oz…Jenny is the one with the ruby red slippers sneakers…maybe she can enlighten me)

What do my friends really think of me?
“Tom’s Diner” by Suzanne Vega (no idea what to make of this one-the song is really just about a woman noticing people in a diner-slice of life stuff)

What do people secretly think of me?
“Where you Will Go” by The Calling (oh dear, where WILL I go?- do you know?)

How can I be happy?
“Brand New Day” by Sting (love that, living in the moment!)

Will I ever have children?
“I Hope You Dance” by Leann Womack (interesting…don’t have kids and it’s a little late but dancing could be construed as…)

What is some good advice for me?
“Exodus Damage” by John Vanderslice (oh my, this one doesn’t sound good at all…such a relaxed sounding song with such a violent title)

How will I be remembered?

“Leyenda” by Alirio Diaz (hmmm, a lovely piece of Spanish classical music? This can go so many ways…do I reclaim my minimal guitar playing skills before I leave this earth?)

What is my signature dancing song?
“Close to You” by Maxi Priest (excellent choice – gets my feet moving every time)

What do I think my current theme song is?
“Better Now” by Collective Soul (this is so true…better now that I’ve regained my health!)

What does everyone else think my current theme song is?
“Beautiful Day” by U2 (nice!)

What song will play at my funeral?

“Settle for a Slowdown” by Dierks Bentley (this song is about a cowboy who wants the love of his life to come back to him but he’ll settle for her tapping her brakes as she drives away…I’m so open to suggestions)

What is my day going to be like?
“Collide” by Howie Day (love it!)

Responses

  1. It’s great to meet you Kathleen! Are you one of those amazing triathletes too? Anyway, love your list – lots of great stuff packed on that ipod of yours. And you’ve given me some great ideas for my itunes shopping list. 😉

  2. Oh my goodness – that is so fun! “Beautiful Day” that’s cool… And “Over the Rainbow”… maybe you need a pair of ruby Converse too! I think this meme is such a hoot… plus it’s fun to see your musical diversity! So glad you did this!

  3. Hi Kathleen! I came by way of Myra’s mixtape today – I am an amateur runner in training for my first half-marathon – and I’m obsessive about making good running playlists. You can see what I mean here:

    http://dawnomite.wordpress.com/cheer-dawn-on/

    And I would love to see more lists from you!

    Question, about this fortune telling ipod meme, did you just sift through your songs and decide for yourself what to pick?


Leave a Reply

Categories

