Posted by: forgingahead | August 11, 2008

A Healthy Journey

Wet suits draped over dining room chairs. Three bikes in leaning against our dining table that is also overflowing with spare bike parts. Cycling clothes drying on racks in the bathroom. Yep, our house has been transformed into gym of sorts.

A mere 9 months ago I could not have envisioned such a scene. If a leprechaun (I’m Irish) had dropped by and told me that in 9 short months I’d lose 50 pounds and be in reasonable enough condition to attempt a longer than regulation Olympic length triathlon I’d have said he was crazy.

Of course if I was having any sort of conversation with a leprechaun the crazy part would go without saying. But you get my point.

I was chatting with my friend Allison on the phone the other. The single most important person to influence my “lifestyle change” (it’s not a diet) other than my wonderful husband Bert, Allison is the one who fatefully tempted me to do an open water swim in Mexico that scared me to death. But facing my fears and doing it changed my life.

I’m not being very clear this evening…must be my body telling me to GO. TO. SLEEP. I did bike 34 miles today. I love being able to say. And so casually too. Yep, I biked further than I ever have (well at least in the last 20+ years). But I’m ahead of myself again.

My point is that people impact our lives every day, in big ways and small ways. Allison impacted mine in a ginormeous way. It was her suggestion that we tackle this darn triathlon that has me doing nutty things like renting wet suits and buying road bikes.

And I thank the universe every day. Because I am stronger, fitter, healthier and more connected to my body and mind than ever.

Thank you Allison!

pleasantly exhausted,

Kathleen

Responses

  1. I can’t possibly thank you enough for your appreciation of my part in this amazing story of the transformation of Kathleen Burke Jensen. More importantly though, thank you for your commitment and hard work. You are an amazing example of courage and strength. You did this – I can’t wait to cross the finish line with you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

