Posted by: forgingahead | July 25, 2008

Work Endurance

Yesterday was a different kind of endurance challenge for me…being in an office for 8 hours. I’ve been self-employed for many years now so the demands I make on my body from a desk-sitting perspective have been somewhat low.

I’m here to report that it’s harder than running 5 miles.

In my “home office” I move around a lot with my laptop and take breaks that include playing with Zinger the super cat or wandering around the garden. Turns out this makes all the difference.

The good news is that this morning Bert and I are heading out on a kick ass tandem ride. One we’ve done before and I’m psyched to see if I’m stronger than last time.

I’ve made a few purchases that I think will ensure that I’m a faster cyclist.

Exhibit A – my lovely new Castelli biking jersey.

Disclaimer – I don’t look quite this aerodynamic in it. But I sure do feel fast! Who knew I’d be willing to wear one of these? I’d watch other cyclists go by and wonder what the funny pockets in the back were for. “Not so stylish,” I’d think to myself.

Well, it turns out they’re quite functional and now I get it! When riding your bike for a long time you need food and you don’t want to stop. Nothing simpler than reaching behind your back and selecting the tasty treat of the moment. So clever!

Happy Riding!
Kathleen

Responses

  1. Hi Kathleen,

    It was nice to have met you at BlogHer. I’m so impressed that you’re training to do a triathlon. I will stop back in and see how it goes!

    Best,
    Darcy
    http://www.lifewithmy3boybarians.com

  2. Darcy,

    So good to hear from you! Thanks for visiting and the good wishes on my crazy goal. Though I think raising 3 boybarians is probably harder!

    Cheers, Kathleen


Leave a Reply

Categories

