Posted by: forgingahead | July 23, 2008

Rockin Runner

I rock! Think I should be a bit more humble? Perhaps. But I’m enjoying my first runner’s high and I can’t be stopped.

Let’s recap. Bert (hubby), coach (and friend) Allison and I are signed up and committed (yes, you can draw parallels to asylums) to the Santa Barbara Triathlon taking place on August 23rd. It’s a non-standard extra-Olympic length event. 1 mile swim in the ocean, 34 mile bike (yes there are hills) and a 10 mile run (more hills).

We committed to this event back in February and have been training hard ever since. I had three personal challenges to overcome. 1) Tackle my fear of swimming in the open water. Check. 2) Get on a bike and go some distance and climb some hills. Check. 3) Run. Just start running. As coach Allison said the first time we ran together, “how about we just go to the lamp post over there.” Baby steps.

So I purchased some real running shoes and started working a route around the ‘hood. Week One: Walk a block, jog through the intersection, walk the next block and so on. Week Two: Walk a block, jog half a block. Week Three: jog two blocks…you get the idea.

I kind of topped out at 2 miles – mostly running, occasionally walking down a steep hill. Now, I don’t know if you were paying attention up there earlier in the post when I mentioned that the running portion of the race is TEN MILES LONG.

So I told Coach Allison that I was setting myself a goal to run 5 miles before the event. I figured if I could run five, then I could walk the other five and maybe even finish the race without collapsing in a heap. That was a couple of weeks ago.

You know the thing with training is how life tries to get in the way. Work gets busy. You find lots of fun blogs to read and the evening is over before you know it. So I wasn’t really getting the miles under my belt. On Saturday I made the choice to NOT turn around at my usual spot and this led me on a merry run of about 3 miles. Progress. I didn’t collapse. Could still walk the next day.

But today. Today is one for the personal record books. I’m planning on becoming such an accomplished runner that one day I’ll look back and read this and say, “really, you were excited about running 5 miles? That’s like a warm up.”

But for today I shall revel in the strength and vitality of my newly rediscovered athletic self. Sure my lungs were working on the hills (the true genius of jogging with an iPod is you can’t hear your own labored breathing!)

I ran 5 miles. I ran for an hour. I maybe could have kept running!

Santa Barbara Triathlon, here I come!

Responses

  1. I hope you don’t think I sound insincere or crazy when I tell you this, but I could feel tears building as I read! I can totally relate to that feeling of “I rock!” – especially when looking back to the beginning (to start learning to run I’d walk the curves on a track and “run” every-other-straight”…).

    5 miles is AWESOME! You really do ROCK!

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 – I have a huge grin and don’t know how to make that translate!

  2. Thanks Jenny! Athletic girls unite! We’re super-powered in mind and body and it’s awesome. Here’s to your Olympic Triathlon – I’ll be rooting for you!!! Hugs and high-fives all around!


Leave a Reply

Categories

