Posted by: forgingahead | March 17, 2014

11 Weeks to Escape from Alcatraz

20140317-195512.jpg

And only 5 weeks to the Silicon Valley Super Sprint! This race has been relocated to Half Moon Bay because UVAS reservoir in Morgan Hill is too low. I’m psyched to be able to do a triathlon in the town where my horse lives and where I’ve done so much running and cycling through the years.

So two weeks went by with nary a training block or a blog post. I knew that was going to happen because I was traveling for work. And when I travel for work the days really slip by. It’s like time on speed.

I did run the Rocky Stairs in Philly. Rocky needs to come to SF and experience a real flight of stairs. Stairs with some vertical challenge built into them. Regardless it was fun to run them and run through the snow!

I was only in Atlanta for 24 hours so nothing to report there.

In Chicago I managed to squeeze in a quick swim in one of my favorite pools one morning and a run along the snow packed lakeshore on day two. Good times!

I am not going to be ready for Alcatraz. But I am going to keep forging ahead as if I will be on the starting line. It’s all I can do now.

Not sure if it’s age or stress or a combo of both but I’m getting some sort of frozen shoulder when I travel now. When the pain kicks in swimming is out of the question. I tested that theory this week and the swim made my shoulder very cross with me. So that’s new and exciting. Sigh.

Plus some weird pain that starts around my hip/butt and radiates down the front to my quads? Seriously? Color me annoyed.

Pics below…

20140317-195339.jpg

20140317-195437.jpg

20140317-195553.jpg

Responses

  1. Love your pictures. Keep up the attitude of forging ahead! Love you,
    Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

