Posted by: forgingahead | January 24, 2011

Pt. Reyes Paradise

We did a bike ride from Chicken Ranch Beach in Inverness to the Pt. Reyes Lighthouse this weekend and it was glorious!

The weather right now is crazy beautiful. Soft breezes, warm days. I think Mother Nature is trying to win back our hearts after freezing us out in December.

I know, Californians are fair weather people.

As an extra bonus the car traffic was stopped at Drakes Beach and folks were required to take a shuttle bus out to the lighthouse, leaving the road clear for us!

Mike at Black Mountain Cycles told us it’s to cut down on the car traffic during whale watching season.

Sadly I didn’t spot any whales on the bike ride. I did, however, score a sweet pair of Ibex wool cycling knickers at Mike’s shop. Can’t wait to try them next weekend!

Thanks all for the tips on dealing with shin splints – I wasn’t thinking straight about my shoes being on the old side and you’re right about my pf and tight calves being recurring challenges. Pay attention Kathleen!

Responses

  1. What a beautiful ride! Hooray for June-uary. No worries about this weekend – I ended up being crazy busy. Enjoy the sunshine!

  2. I really want to see the whales one of these days. I just can’t imagine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

