Posted by: forgingahead | January 1, 2009

Farewell 2008, Welcome 2009

See, this is why all the good writers say you have to write every day. I’ve taken a few days off and I feel both rusty and lost.

I’m going to dive back in anyway. Apologies in advance for clunky sentences and meandering paragraphs.

2008 was a banner year of firsts. Join me as I walk down memory lane, bullet point style.

This year was the first time I…

*swam in the ocean (and I did it more than once)
*cycled since college (and hills don’t scare me anymore)
*took up running since college (I heart my iPod shuffle!)
*competed in and completed olympic and sprint length triathlons and a cross-country race
*started writing for fun (and made wonderful new friends as a bonus)

So what does 2009 hold in store?

I’m definitely doing more triathlons…I enjoyed the sprint length distance so more of those please.

The BIG challenge I’ve set myself this year is to ride my bike 100 miles in July to raise funds to fight cancer through the Livestrong Challenge. I’m riding with Team Fatty one of my favorite bloggers who writes about a cycling and other wacky stuff but also about his wife Susan who is battling cancer. It feels cool to be on a team. Haven’t done that since my college crew days.

That’s the standout goal for 2009. I’ll continue to strive to be a wonderful wife, daughter, friend, marketeer, writer, dressage rider and all around strong and healthy person. But that’s nothing new (hey you, snickering in the back there…I do try. *Really* I do.)

Happy New Year!

Responses

  1. What a wonderful post to ring in the New Year!
    Yeah for 2009!

  2. Kathleen, you’re just an amazing person, period. It’s a pleasure knowing you. Here’s to a great 2009!

  3. Sounds like 2008 was great and I think 2009 will be even better!

  4. All the best as this next year comes in! Looks like great things for 2009.

  5. quite a year!

  6. Your 2008 sounded pretty great! Have a super 2009!!!

  7. You just keep kickin’ butts and takin’ names! What great goals – achieved… and great goals to work toward. You are an awesome and INCREDIBLE woman… yay 2009!

  8. Congrats on such a fantastic year, Kathleen. You achieved SO much. I hope that 2009 is even more incredible!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

